Building project: renovation and maintenance of an orphanage

Maarten De Gucht Start Date: Apr 20, 2017 - End Date: Aug 17, 2017
  • Thailand

My Travel Story

by: Maarten De Gucht Start Date: Apr 20, 2017 - End Date: Aug 17, 2017
Hello, My name is Maarten De Gucht. I am a 25 year old man living in Belgium. I know I have it very well here in Belgium. I have all the support that I can wish even due to my Autism Spectrum Dissorder. It is almost always fully paid by the government. I know not everyone in the world has it this good. So I wanted to start helping others who have it difficult. That is why I want to do the following project that is set in Singburi Thailand.

As a volunteer, I will contribute to the maintenance and renovation of the infrastructure of a local orphanage. I will have the opportunity to communicate informally with the children of the center, to teach them a little English, to organize activities and play games together, even if the maintenance of the buildings is my most important task.

The term orphanage has more meanings in Thailand than with us as these institutions do not only receive orphans but also children living in poor conditions, even though their parents still live.

It may concern children who are victims of domestic violence or disadvantaged children who are volunteered by their parents to the orphanage. These parents do not have the means to raise their children while the orphanage can provide them with the necessary care and education.

This volunteer trip is via the organisation WEP. This organisation organises a lot of different volunteer projects abroad. But I still need to pay everything myself. Due to my handicap (Autism) I never had a real job. Only volunteer working experience.

The link that is provided below (more travel information) is in Dutch or French. If you use google chrome, it can translate the whole page.
  • Thailand